All you need to know about Gemstones: Brief Introduction

Vivid shades, striking hues and uneven textured Gemstones have captivated us humans for millions of years. Each stone has distinct characteristics and a unique story. Since ancient times, they have been used to embellish jewellery, cherished as collectibles, and for healing and spiritual purposes. 

This fascinating world is a journey through the world of nature, where beauty combines with human creativity and admiration. From the sparkling sparkle of diamonds to the deep velvety nuances of rubies to the lush greens of emeralds to the fire of opal and to calming colours of turquoise. The list is endless! 

While we will at some point delve into all of those, here we give you a basic introduction to the colourful and joyous gemstones. 

What are Gemstones? 

They have formed over millions of years under Earth’s crust when minerals undergo intense pressure, heat, and chemical reactions. The most well-known gemstones include diamonds, rubies, sapphires, emeralds, and amethysts. However, there are countless others with distinct names and properties. They are also referred to as ‘Color stones’ in many countries such as India.

Types of Gemstones 

They are classified based on various characteristics: 

Mineral Gemstones: These color stones are composed of inorganic crystals and include popular varieties like sapphires, emeralds, rubies, aquamarine, and peridot, among numerous others.

Organic Gemstones: Formed from organic substances or organisms, some examples of this type include pearls and opals. 

Rock Gemstones: These are made by cutting and polishing rocks to create jewels. Examples include lapis lazuli, which showcases vibrant blue hues. 

Popular Gemstones & their Benefits 

Diamond:  Widely considered the “King of Gemstones”, diamonds have long been associated with purity, strength, and eternal love. Some believe diamonds enhance mental clarity.

Sapphire:  Long associated with wisdom, loyalty and nobility, sapphires are believed to bring mental clarity, deepen focus and foster spiritual development.

Ruby: Ruby is associated with passion, vitality, and love. It is believed to ignite motivation, stimulate the heart chakra, and promote courage and self-confidence.

Emerald: Symbolizing rebirth and growth, emerald is associated with abundance, harmony, and emotional balance. It is believed to promote clarity, strengthen relationships, and attract prosperity.

Amethyst: Known for its soothing purple hue, amethyst is believed to enhance spirituality, promote relaxation, and provide mental clarity. It is also associated with balance and protection.

Rose Quartz: This soft pink stone is often associated with love, compassion, and emotional healing. It is believed to attract love and strengthen relationships while fostering inner peace and self-acceptance.

Citrine: With its warm golden hue, citrine is associated with abundance, prosperity, and success. It brings positive energy, creativity, and confidence.

Garnet: Garnet, available in various colours, is associated with vitality, passion, and strength. It enhances energy levels, promotes courage, and ignites creativity.

Turquoise: Known for its vibrant blue-green colour, turquoise is believed to promote communication, inner calmness, and spiritual attunement.

Moonstone: Moonstone, with its ethereal glow, is connected to intuition, emotional balance, and new beginnings. It is known to enhance psychic abilities, promote harmony, and bring positive change.

These associations and beliefs vary across cultures and personal interpretations. The true value lies in their beauty and the meaning each individual attaches to them.

Gemstones & their Purpose  

Gemstones serve various purposes and uses, including:

Collectibles: Some have historical, cultural, or rarity significance, making them highly sought-after collectibles. Gemstone collectors appreciate the unique features, craftsmanship, and stories associated with rare and exceptional stones.

Jewellery: They are commonly used to create exquisite and decorative jewelry. They add beauty, colour, and value to rings, necklaces, earrings, bracelets, and more. Diamonds, rubies, emeralds, and sapphires are especially popular in high-end jewelry.

Healing Properties: Many people believe that they possess properties that can aid in emotional, physical, and spiritual healing. According to belief, each stone has specific energies. They can be used for various purposes, such as promoting calmness, enhancing creativity, attracting love, or providing protection.

Astrology and Birthstones: They are often associated with astrological signs and birth months. They believed to align with specific zodiac signs and positively influence individuals born under those signs. 

The Evolution of the Birth Gemstone Chart

We all are familiar with the birthstone chart. But do you know when it came to life first? 

The modern birthstone chart we are familiar with today was established by the Jewelers of America in 1912. It standardized the list of birthstones and introduced some variations to include more readily available or popular gemstones.

As of today, there are three lists of ancient, traditional, and modern birthstones for each month.

Do Gemstones have powers? 

The belief in power is subjective and varies across different cultures and belief systems. 

Many individuals believe that they possess certain energies or vibrations that can influence aspects of their lives. For example, amethyst is often associated with calming and spiritual properties, while citrine is believed to attract abundance and prosperity. These associations are often based on ancient traditions, cultural beliefs, and personal experiences.

What is the worth of Gemstones?

  • Depending on the factors such as rarity, quality, size, and market demand. However, it can start from $1 to $250 million. Hope diamond is known to be priced at $250 million
  • Diamonds, rubies, emeralds, and sapphires command high prices due to their scarcity and desirability. 
  • Additionally, origin, treatment, and market conditions play a role in arriving at their worth. 
  • Their prices can fluctuate, and individual preferences and purpose (e.g., jewellery, investment) influence worth. Overall, their worth is determined by both, objective and subjective factors that shape the market.

It’s important to consult reputable dealers or appraisers for accurate valuations.

What are Precious & Semi-Precious Stones 

Precious and semi-precious stones categorize gemstones based on their perceived value and rarity. 

  • Precious stones traditionally include diamonds, rubies, emeralds, and sapphires. These gemstones are highly prized for their exceptional beauty, durability, and historical significance. 
  • Semi-precious stones encompass a broader range of gemstones that are considered less rare or valuable, such as amethyst, topaz, garnet, and tourmaline. 

However, “precious” and “semi-precious” are subjective and have become less prominent in the gemstone industry. 

Today, they are often evaluated based on their individual qualities and market demand rather than relying solely on these classifications.

Summing up

There are roughly more than 200 plus a broad variety of gemstones. Within that, there can be many subtypes. So one blog is not going to be sufficient to talk about gemstones. One can go on and on.

Do consult reputable dealers or appraisers when buying online or offline as it may get confusing. 

You can share your love affair with gemstones with us at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *